“Done That”

I’ve been pretty complacent about living in Taiwan–as you’ve probably noticed by my lack of interesting blog posts that detail life aside from my spider woes. It’s a shame to live somewhere so foreign and have the attitude, “Eh.. been here, done that.” (It’s a small island, so we literally “did that” when we were here 3 years ago). Anyhow, I’ve made a few friends and I’m getting myself out of the house and doing more. Since said friends are new here and don’t speak the language, I guess I’m the experienced one (if you can count previously living in Taiwan for 3 months”experienced”). Somehow I’ve tricked everyone into believing that I know what I’m doing, and I’ve begun organizing weekly adventures so they can see the island. The fact that I have a Chinese speaking husband is only a teeny tiny advantage–we’d be lost for days without him.

This Saturday’s adventure was, drum roll… Fulong Beach! Yes, we’ve been there and we’ve already done that, but who the heck cares? It’s a beach, AND they were hosting an international sand sculpting competition, which was awesome. I seriously underestimated these artist’s abilities. I was anticipating a few meter-high, eroded sandcastles (the pieces were built a month ago and it’s rained nearly every day since), but all of them exceeded my expectations. Some impressed me by their size, others by their detail, and some by the creativity of concept. I think I need to take up sand sculpting–I’m feeling inspired. Needless to say that they were in remarkable condition for being over a month old. The artists use some sort of a shellac that forms a rock hard shell and preserves their sand art.

Fulong Beach.

Fulong Beach.

 

This was "Around The World In 80 Days" and it was sculpted on all 4 sides.

One of 4 sides to “Around The World In 80 Days.”

Doesn't that building look at home in those misty Taiwan mountains?

Doesn’t this look right at home in Taiwan’s misty mountains?

IMG_4936

This was one of 4 sculptures the artist used to tell a narrative.

Morocco - my favorite piece.

Morocco – my favorite piece.

IMG_4944

The detail on this sculpture is insane–look at the tiny people in the alleyways!

IMG_4930

Venice’s Santa Maria della Salute.

This is Kinley's reaction to seeing a "wave" (aka - that tiny stream of water) come at her.

This is Kinley’s reaction to seeing a “wave” (aka – that tiny stream of water) come at her.

She's a crowd pleaser. The audience doubled in size within 5 minutes. Taiwan has the lowest birthrate in the world, so any baby, especially a foreign one is picture worthy.

She’s a crowd pleaser. This audience doubled in size within 5 minutes. Taiwan has the lowest birthrate in the world, so any baby, especially a foreign one, is picture worthy.

Leave a Reply

